I didn’t want to ruin your birthday. I really didn’t. I bought you a cake. A cake with strawberries on top. I had the lady write happy birthday with your name. I also had her write “crescendo,” because that is what we say. Your family didn’t seem to thrilled with the idea of me attending your dinner. So, I stood here. I really think we need to evaluate our lives. The drugs have taken the best of us. We are living a facade that everything is ok. We have no power. It’s summer time in Bakersfield. We sweat and fight and sweat some more….(to be continued)

Leave a Reply

